Incident Report

Legal Aid Agency Data Breach: What Applicants Should Know

People who applied for legal aid shared some of the most sensitive facts of their lives. In 2025 a government agency told them that records going back to 2007 were taken.

Updated October 11, 2026
TL;DR

The UK Legal Aid Agency says it became aware of a cyber attack on April 23, 2025 and on May 16, 2025 found that a group had accessed a large amount of applicant information. GOV.UK says the data covers applicants from 2007 to May 16, 2025 and may include contact details, national ID numbers, criminal history and financial data. Read what to do after a breach.

Your email may already be in a known data breach. Find out in about 30 seconds.

Free · About 30 seconds · No sign-up · Email not stored

Legal aid applications ask for exactly the kind of detail that is most harmful to expose: financial hardship, family circumstances and sometimes criminal history. A breach of that data is not a typical consumer breach.

What happened

GOV.UK reports that the Legal Aid Agency became aware of a cyber attack on its online digital services on April 23, 2025. On May 16, 2025, it found that a group had accessed a large amount of applicant information, and took systems offline. The agency worked with the National Crime Agency and the National Cyber Security Centre and informed the Information Commissioner's Office.

An injunction, added on June 4, 2025, prohibits sharing the data. The notice was updated to July 31, 2025, and corrected an earlier statement that the data went back to 2010.

How it worked

The notice describes unauthorised access to the agency's online digital services. It does not describe the technical method, and we do not guess. The data affected relates to applicants who applied through the digital service from 2007 to May 16, 2025.

What was exposed

The data potentially affected includes contact details, addresses, dates of birth, national ID numbers, criminal history, employment status and financial data such as contributions, debts and payments. Partner information was affected in some cases. Providers' own details, including financial information, may have been compromised too.

Because the notice says "potentially affected," not every field will apply to every person.

How it ended

This case is open-ended and unhappy. The notice reports no arrest and no fine. It does not say who carried out the attack, how many people were affected or whether services have been restored. An injunction is a legal step to prevent sharing, but it cannot guarantee that criminals will comply.

Do not guess. See which breaches include your email and what leaked.

Free · About 30 seconds · No sign-up · Email not stored

A timeline of the case

The agency became aware of the attack on April 23, 2025. Three weeks later, on May 16, it found a group had accessed a large amount of applicant data and took systems offline. An injunction followed on June 4, and the notice was updated through July 31 to correct the start date of the data from 2010 to 2007.

That correction matters for individuals. It means people who applied between 2007 and 2010 were affected too, and may not have expected it.

Key facts at a glance

  • Discovered: April 23, 2025
  • Extent found: May 16, 2025
  • Applicant data period: 2007 to May 16, 2025
  • Data potentially affected: contact details, national ID numbers, criminal history, financial data
  • Injunction: added June 4, 2025
  • Not stated: number of people, attackers' identity, restoration of services

Why this case matters

Government services collect sensitive data because they have to, and individuals often have no alternative provider. That makes the security of those systems a public issue. The facts here, a long retention period reaching back to 2007, also raise a question of how long such data should be kept.

For people affected, the realistic risk is targeted contact. Someone who knows you applied for legal aid, and what you disclosed, can make a message sound official. Scammers and other criminals sometimes use exactly this kind of knowledge to pressure people, so a cautious attitude to unsolicited contact is the main protection.

What you can do

1Treat unexpected contact with suspicion

If a call or message mentions legal aid, check with the agency using contact details you find yourself.

2Do not share information because a caller already seems to know it

Knowing a detail is not proof of identity.

3Watch your credit file

National ID numbers and dates of birth can be used in fraud. See what to do if your identity is stolen.

4Keep any notice you receive

It may matter if you later need to show that your data was exposed.

What the notice does not say

The notice does not describe the number of affected people or the attackers, and it does not say that anyone has been charged. For a private-sector supplier breach in the UK with a fine, see Capita.

If this case made you want to check your own position, start with these guides on what each type of breached data means, how to tell a real breach notice from a phishing message and what to do after your email appears in a breach. You can also try our free email exposure check.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

When did the Legal Aid Agency become aware of the attack?

On April 23, 2025, and it found the extent of the data accessed on May 16, 2025.

What period does the data cover?

Applicants who applied through the digital service from 2007 to May 16, 2025, after a correction from an earlier statement of 2010.

What data may have been affected?

Contact details, addresses, dates of birth, national ID numbers, criminal history, employment status and financial data.

Has anyone been fined or arrested?

The notice reports no fine and no arrest.

Step 1 · Free

See if your email has already leaked

  • Checks your email against known data breaches
  • Shows which sites leaked it, when, and what leaked
  • We do not store the email you check
Check my email free →
Step 2 · Fix exposed passwords

Change reused and leaked passwords

NordPass flags weak and reused passwords, and its Premium plan alerts you if your details appear in new breaches.

See NordPass →

Affiliate link. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Prefer a one-time report first? Scan My Shadow, our sister service, $9.99.

Digital Footprint Scan creates practical privacy guides designed to help people understand and reduce unnecessary online exposure. Information can vary by website and jurisdiction, so check the current policies of the service or site involved before taking action. This report summarizes a GOV.UK notice, updated to July 31, 2025. The notice does not state the number of people affected, who the attackers were or whether services have been restored, so we do not either. No fine or arrest is reported.